a cook’s dozen (#5)

#5: Spinach Egg Loaf

This recipe came into our family from a wonderful woman named Frances Reicken, who owns a house on Kezar Lake in my hometown where she spends her summers. When I was a high school student I wrote an article on Frances and her gorgeous and extremely unique pottery for the local newspaper. I was lucky enough to spend an afternoon with her learning about her techniques and watching her prepare pots for the large kiln built in her backyard. Frances is probably in her eighties or maybe even nineties now, I haven’t seen her for years. The few pieces of her pottery that I own are among my most treasured possessions. Along with her pots she often included a recipe, and this particular bowl, or “loafing pan” as she calls it, of which my mother and I each own a version (my mother’s is pictured here), came with a recipe for Spinach Egg Loaf. It’s a sort of crustless quiche, and is fantastic for brunch (I’ve tripled the recipe and made it in a lasagne pan for a brunch party) or also for dinner, served with a long grain white rice.

Franny Reicken’s Spinach Egg Loaf

1 large white onion, minced

2 Tbsp butter

3 large eggs, scrambled

1 10 oz package fresh spinach

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella

1/2 cup large curd cottage cheese

coarse salt & fresh ground black pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Heat the butter in the loafing pan or baking dish on the stovetop. Add minced onion and cook until translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Add spinach and cook just until wilted. While onion is cooking, scramble eggs in a medium mixing bowl. Add mozzarella and cottage cheese to the eggs and mix lightly. Toss with spinach/onion mixture in your baking dish. Add salt & pepper to taste. Bake for 30 minutes or until egg mixture is set. Serves 4.

One Response to “a cook’s dozen (#5)”

  1. sarah Says:

    Sounds good, does the cottage cheese make it super creamy. I wonder what it would be like to swap goat cheese for mozzarella?

Leave a comment